“Battle Angel Alita: Volume 1” – Yukito Kishiro

Quality of Writing: 7/10

Pace: 7/10

Plot Development: 8/10

Characters: 8/10

Enjoyability: 9/10

Insightfulness: 8/10

Ease of Reading: 9/10

Images: 7/10

Overall Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I don’t normally review the manga I read, but I made an exception for this due to the new movie that just came out in theatres: Alita: Battle Angel.

In Battle Angel Alita: Deluxe Edition Volume 1 we are introduced to several characters. Each of them are complex and have flaws and virtues all their own. That doesn’t make them all really well developed though. The fact is that Alita and Yugo have the least believable romance I’ve ever read. If your characters have to kiss for the audience to know they’re in love, it’s not written well, and let’s face it, it didn’t feel like love after the kiss either. Both of them fell for the other impossibly fast and there was no depth to the emotion. It was full-fledged infatuation and nothing more. Also, Yugo is only fifteen years old, and we don’t know how old Alita is supposed to be despite her 300 year old technology.

That didn’t stop me from enjoying the story though. I wish some of the images had been clearer, but I understand the difficulties of that when illustrating a sci-fi/action manga. Overall it was a very original story, and I will continue reading the other 3 volumes, because I’m curious as to how things progress.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.