“Good Girl’s Lie” – J.T. Ellison

Quality of Writing: 6/10

Pace: 7/10

Plot Development: 5/10

Characters: 5/10

Enjoyability: 8/10

Insightfulness: 2/10

Ease of Reading: 6/10

Overall Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️

I got this Advanced Reader Copy a while ago from NetGalley, and I will admit it took me a while to get into the book. I put it down for some time, but picked it up again today, and was immediately sucked in. I don’t know what changed, but it was like a Twilight book. The writing had problems, but the book was definitely a page turner.

For one, the plot is very convoluted. You have to pay attention to a lot of details, and things get mixed up very easily.

Two, the characters are a little shaky. Especially Becca Curtis. She plays way too many roles/personalities. Also, the book had too many points of view.

There was a lot of extra, random drama that was just there for effect, and it didn’t add anything to the story.

Something I did like was how casually the author included the LGBTQ+ community without it being the main focus of the story. It threw me off at first, because I didn’t expect it, but it was nice to see the representation.

Overall, the book was interesting, but not something I would highly recommend. You definitely have to be able to remember details in order to get through it.

Some side notes:

– there was an entire short chapter about synonyms for the word “happy”. It was unnecessary, and did not fit with the rest of the book.

– too many psychopathic characters, or characters with psycho tendencies in one book.

– that small tidbit of -Small spoiler in bold- saying Ashlyn has Borderline Personality Disorder was stupid. I’ve done a lot (A LOT) of research on that, and it doesn’t explain her behavior enough. It’s kind of insulting that they just threw that in there.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.